question

strix avatar image
strix asked

Check: the difference between AC-out-2 and AC-in

Hi, I am just starting out with Victron, and want to ensure that I have understood the Multiplus II's AC logic correctly (specifically, in ESS mode).

It's clear enough from documentation that AC-out-1 is protected by the battery and always live (provided no fault condition), and AC-out-2 is only energised when power is present on AC-in. I also gather from Appendix B of the manual that the transfer relay is normally closed when AC-in is live and that, to the MP2, there is no difference between loads on AC-out-1 and AC-out-2.

Appendix B also shows that current is measured at two points: directly at the inverter output, and at AC-in. Between them, so far as I can work out, they allow the MP2 to detect and prevent overload conditions on the inverter, to implement PowerControl, and anyway to limit current drawn on AC-in by the charger according to something less than the breaker supplying AC-in. PowerAssist is implemented by means of an ET112.

That all seems fairly straight forward. (Have I missed anything?)

Does it matter if there are loads, possibly quite large loads (oven, 3kW kettle, 2kW AC etc) between the ET112 and AC-in, or do they have to be connected to AC-out-2? In an ESS situation, do I ever need to use AC-out-2 for any purpose?

It seems not, so far as I understand it. Their current draw will still be seen via the ET112 and, because AC-in, AC-out-1 and AC-out-2 are all directly coupled via relays, even loads upstream of the inverter will benefit from PowerAssist (so long as grid power is present, of course). This is also why PV inverters can be installed in parallel with any of the AC ports on the MP2: everything is galvanically connected when grid power is present.