question

alan-falck avatar image
alan-falck asked

ESS back to grid threshold changes from day to day

Hi (newbie here)

I've opened a new post as I believe this is the correct way to address a question with a unique setup, apologies in advance if I'm doing this incorrectly. I've also taken previous advice into consideration but I need some help in the correct setup if I have done this wrong ?

Some days ESS seems to work perfectly using battery overnight (Self Consumption) other nights it goes into sustain mode early in the discharge cycle and uses the grid to slowly recharge over hrs (around 8 hrs).

I understand voltage is an important threshold but not sure where this can be set as I can only find SOC (back to grid) threshold in the ESS settings.

I don't understand how a totally different thresholds (sustain level) chang from day to day.

(I'm using a 5Kva MP IIGX, ESS (min SOC -20%) in 'Non-battery life mode', with 5Kva LifePro4 battery, 15 330w panels.

A: The three overnight discharge examples (good and bad) and early sustain at 80%) are as below, I would appreciate any help.

B: After watching several ESS webinars I understand ESS has several modes 1, 2 & 3 but Im not sure where these are set, IE in the assistant or in remote control?

(sorry I didn't want to start a new post on a similar topic)

Thanks

Alangood-self-consume.png

poor-self-consumption.png

sustain-at-80.png

VE Config Extract from MPII 5KVAGX

AB: GeneralSystem frequency 50Hz

Shore current 50.0 A

Overruled by remote checked

Dynamic current limiter unchecked

External current sensor connected (see manual) unchecked

State of charge when Bulk finished 95.0 %

Battery capacity 100 Ah

Charge efficiency 0.95 TAB: Grid

Country / grid code standard Other: not compliant to any grid code standard

LOM detection AC input 1 Type B (safe)

Accept wide input frequency range (45-65 Hz) checked

AC low switch mains off 180 V

AC low switch mains on 187 V

AC high switch mains on 265 V