question

photo2000a avatar image
photo2000a asked

help w/Victron Energy SmartSolar MPPT 75V 15 amp

hi. i am new to solar and. hit a wrinkle that i hope is something simple/obvious i might have overlooked.

Using 2 solar panels 12v. i measured the output of ea. and was getting about 15v. I hooked them up in series and measured 30v. thought i was good.

plugged it into my Victron Energy SmartSolar MPPT 75V 15 amp controller, and measured across. the terminals and got about 12.5v. the bluetooth app showed same.

so i unplugged the solar panel measured across it again. 30v. so it seems once i plug it into the controller the pv terminals show 12.5. I measured the battery. and load terminals. got about 12v using it w/a 12v battery which for testing i did. disconnect and i had no load connected just a volt meter.

any ideas. why the controller isn't sending power to charge the battery w/30v from the solar. should be enough to activate the charge ckt, but. dunno why. i am not measuring 30v at the pv terminals when i plug it in

anyone have any ideas what i did wrong?

thanks

setup
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

5 Answers
Matthias Lange - DE avatar image
Matthias Lange - DE answered ·

The manual says to always connect the battery first. So I would say you should try it again with the battery connected.

If you still get the same result you may have damaged the MPPT as you connected PV without the battery.

2 comments
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

photo2000a avatar image photo2000a commented ·

Hi thanks for the responce, the battery was connected when i added the solar

0 Likes 0 ·
Matthias Lange - DE avatar image Matthias Lange - DE ♦ photo2000a commented ·
Check the fuse at the bottom of the MPPT.
0 Likes 0 ·
pwfarnell avatar image
pwfarnell answered ·