question

Jonathan Walton avatar image
Jonathan Walton asked

Use Raspberry Pi to switch diversion loads based on battery voltage from BMS

Hello, Victron community!

I have an idea to control the diversion loads on an off-grid system based on the battery voltage info received from the BMS. I have a Pylontech battery bank made up of 12 Pylontech US3000 batteries all connected to a Pylontech hub and then connected to my Venus GX.

Basically, I am looking for a way to access the voltage information from the BMS and then sequentially switch on 10 maybe even 12 logic outputs as the battery voltage rises from a certain point. And then as the voltage falls sequentially switch them off again one by one.

I am aware that the MPPT chargers and the Quattros in my system can do this but I need more outputs, which is why I thought of using a Raspberry Pi or a PLC of some kind.

I am new to the world of Raspberry Pi so any information would be greatly appreciated

Many thanks

Jonathan

MPPT ControllersMultiPlus Quattro Inverter ChargerVenus OSPylontechRaspberry Pi
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

5 Answers
wkirby avatar image
wkirby answered ·

The best way I can think of is to run NodeRED on the RaspberryPi and then use a modbus TCP module to read the parameters of the Pylontech battery from the VenusGX.
Then create a NodeRED flow to switch the GPIO outputs on or off as you wish.

It may be better to use the SOC value of the Pylontech rather than Voltage since Voltage does not change very much in the middle 40% or 50% of those batteries.

2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

Jonathan Walton answered ·

That's great, thank you for that, I need to do some more research to familiarise myself with the Raspberry Pi and Node-RED and then I will give it a go.

2 |3000