question

cw8 avatar image
cw8 asked

Help needed vetting initial design ideas for van electrical system

Newbie here, designing a van system.

I would like help vetting the big picture design. Once the big picture is solid, I will move onto current, distances, wire size, fuses, etc. I would really appreciate your comments, criticism, and suggestions on this big picture design.

The idea is to initially start with something without a lot of solar or a large battery bank. But design/build it so that solar and batteries can be doubled. Inverter, wires, and fuses, for example, would all be sized for this later use. A few years down the road, I will know a lot more about my system and my needs.

Random factoids:
  • This is a passenger van, which will only be 'half converted', so I would like to keep the system smaller, particularly initially.
  • My 2020 Transit has a LOT of alternator power available (details in diagram).
  • Would prefer to keep my roof rack for things other than solar, for now anyway.
  • Do not want built-in propane. Will take propane/butane camp cookstove for longer trips.
  • Initially, will only use inverter cooktop/microwave occasionally - quick stop when pulling over on a road trip over, horrid weather, hot water/soup/heat up leftovers/etc. Am willing to not use when house batteries low, or when I know I will be off-grid for longer. In a few years, I will know more about whether this restriction is one I want to keep.
  • Traditionally, I don't tend to stay in one place for long, and with all that alternator power available, it is not obvious that I need a huge bank. Having said that, with all the kids we have now, this may change. Time will tell.
  • For the next few years, this van will only be for weekend camping trips, and road trips. A few years down the road, when kids older, it will be used more off-grid.