question

tomskk avatar image
tomskk asked

The best way to connect Victron components

Hi, i'm new to Victron.

What is the best way to connect Multiplus 24/3000/70-50, MPPT SmartSolar 100/50, Venus GX, BMV-700 and VE.net Blue Power panel ?

MPPT ControllersMultiPlus Quattro Inverter ChargerVenus GX - VGXsmart solar set-up help
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

3 Answers
boekel avatar image
boekel answered ·

I'd change the Blue Power Panel for a Venus or Color Control, then read this:

https://www.victronenergy.com/live/ess:start

1 comment
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

tomskk avatar image tomskk commented ·

I will use a Raspberry PI with Venus software instead of Color Control GX, but was just wondering if i can still use the Blue Power Panel somewhere in the system, since solar plant is 30m from the house and the Raspberry Venus will be in the house. I thought i could use the Blue Power Panel in the shed.

http://www.prilipe.si

0 Likes 0 ·
Paul B avatar image
Paul B answered ·

As far as I know the bluepower panels outputs are not sent to the CCGX so its stand alone in the shed

2 |3000

JohnC avatar image
JohnC answered ·

The RPi GX will need to stay in the shed. Just the cable lengths to the kit hanging from it makes it impractical to have so far away. Just a single ethernet cable (or EoP, maybe even wifi) to the house router, hence to a laptop or suchlike will give full functionality.

I wouldn't install the Blue Power, The BMV will give you enough local monitoring of the all-important V.

All of it you can monitor/control from the house.

Is this installation totally offgrid?

4 comments
2 |3000

tomskk avatar image tomskk commented ·

Yes, its totally off-grid.

How is RPi GX connected to the system ? Via USB Mk3 cable or CAN (Canberrydual V2.1).