question

johan-granqvist avatar image
johan-granqvist asked

Stop charging lifepo4 when battery is full

Hi, I am new to the lifepo4 market but has read a lot about it. In almost all articles about charging it states that you should charge your lifepo4 until its full and then stop charging. But the chargers i have found almost always implement the three stages, bulk, absortion and float (allmost all articles say that you should not float a lifepo4 battery). I am planning to by a battery (not victron) with an external bms with hvc and lvc to cut off loads and charges at certain volts, but i would rather have the charger to sense the voltage and can be programmed to stop charge at a selected level, and use the hvc more like an emergency brake. Is this possible with any not-so-expensive victron charger? Will i encounter any problems if i use the hvc to disconnect the battery from a blue smart charger that is plugged in to AC?

battery chargingLithium Battery
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

4 Answers
mvader (Victron Energy) avatar image
mvader (Victron Energy) answered ·

Set float value in the charger low enough, and then it wont “float” the battery.

example: take a lithium battery, fully charge it. Leave it alone for an hour (nothing connected to its terminals)

Now measure the open circuit voltage. Gives a good indication. And will be around 3.37V per cell for lifepo4 = 13.5 V = the recommended “float” voltage.

connecting a charger that is set to that voltage wont charge the battery. What it will do is make for the loads to be powered by the charger; which is what anyone expects: a battery + charger, and then connecting a load, shouldnt result in the battery being discharged.