question

sven-nurber avatar image
sven-nurber asked

Proper way to charge 12V bank from 48V bank ?

Hi Forum. This boat has 48V battery bank with some 12V loads that draw more than 30A. I was thinking of a Victron DC-DC converter, but doesn't it make more sense to use a DC battery charger to ensure that an absorption charge happens when necessary ? I'm curious what others recommend or do in such a situation ?

battery chargingOrion DC-DC Converters not smart
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

2 Answers
rickp avatar image
rickp answered ·

I'm no expert, so if I'm off base I am hopeful I'll get corrected here!

If I understand you correctly, you're asking why not use a 12 volt charger for power supply to some 12 V loads, and get some battery charging at the same time. The problem is that you have a 48 volt battery bank that needs to see that voltage (actually higher, in the mid to upper 50s) from a charger to replenish itself. A 12 volt charger wouldn't do you any good, and a 48 volt charger can't supply 12 volt loads.

If you have 12V loads currently in use, there must be a converter in your setup already. If this is something you're looking to add, Victron does make a 48/12/30A version that sounds like it might suit your needs.

My setup is 24V, and I use a Victron Orion 24/12/70A to feed a fuse block for 12 volt loads. I like it because you can set the voltage output to suit your needs. Some converters put out 12.6V or so, and 13.2 (the voltage of a charged 12V battery) just works better.

2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

sven-nurber avatar image
sven-nurber answered ·