question

ben-frobig avatar image
ben-frobig asked

Using SmartShunt 500A with starter battery on car

Forgive me for being a novice here, but I'm trying to find an easy to install, safe Amp and volt meter to monitor the battery on my car that has an intermittent draw. I need to have something permanently installed that will give me the voltage on the battery as well as the amp draw so I can see 1) if the draw is active so I can trace it, and 2) how long I have before the battery dies. The battery is under the passenger seat, so it is basically impossible to check this with a handheld meter without taking the seat out. Thus the advantage of the bluetooth permanent install here. Can the bluetooth SmartShunt be installed on the starter battery or just a house battery on an RV, or does it even make a difference? And, it looks like I can get all the data I need from this device, am I missing something? Any help would be very much appreciated.

starter battery
1 comment
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

cameron-bennier avatar image cameron-bennier commented ·

I have one installed....yes it works fine....untill the alternator kicks in then its useless as the current is coming from the alternator.

It wont show the cranking current either...no fast enough to display it...

Just tested it again...and yes if you go to the trends tab and log the startup it will log what you need.screenshot-20210924-152824.png

0 Likes 0 ·
3 Answers
ejrossouw avatar image
ejrossouw answered ·

Hello @Ben Frobig Below are some usage scenarios. https://www.victronenergy.com/upload/documents/Datasheet-SmartShunt-EN-.pdf I don't fully understand. Do you wan't to use it standalone in your car or in a system where there is a house battery too e.g. RV?

1 comment
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.