question

drogos avatar image
drogos asked

Looking for collaborators for Victron -> Grafana project

Hello! I am currently playing around with an off grid system for collecting victron data to display on grafana (with no internet). The system uses an influxdb server. At the moment it kind of works, but it is very hacky. It collects data via a cron job to query the dbus on the color control gx. Looking into mqtt now, and I was wondering if anyone wants to help out. I am not experienced in this field so it is a learning process for me. I want to end up with a guide for others to use that has the same or similar goals. Anyone interested?

offgridMQTTgrafana
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

3 Answers
mvader (Victron Energy) avatar image
mvader (Victron Energy) answered ·

Hey @Drogos! Nice project. You'll probably be quite happy to see this:

https://github.com/victronenergy/venus-docker-grafana

It has all you need, including influxdb & Grafana.

1 comment
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

mvader (Victron Energy) avatar image mvader (Victron Energy) ♦♦ commented ·

but, is not used a lot; so who knows what you run into. I'd be very happy if you try that out; all the work thats been put in there can do with some using & finishing.

0 Likes 0 ·
drogos avatar image
drogos answered ·

Got it installed! It works great! Thank you so much for the link, was unable to find this one in all my searching. Would you happen to know how this image talks to the mqtt to populate the db? Personally I want to set this up without using docker, and to learn, and know how every part of the system works. I can probably find that out from this great package, but a hint in the correct direction is nice if someone has it :)