question

Paul F Prinsloo avatar image
Paul F Prinsloo asked

Modbus TCP - corect DC values

Hello I am new to the modbus interface and have been using MQTT with my Victron setup, so far I have managed to get a connection and reading the values from the Modbus but nothing I can't figure is how "negative" value is handled if that is the correct question.

I am pulling the battery Watts value from the Slave adress: 100 and the Register value of 842 but the value I receive is 65242 instead of -298 watts. I am assuming that there should be a conversion of sorts but I can't seem to find any info on the topic.
Any help?
Regards

Paul

Modbus TCP
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

3 Answers
Ingo avatar image
Ingo answered ·

65242 is roughly the 2's compliment of -298.

1 comment
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

Paul F Prinsloo avatar image Paul F Prinsloo commented ·

Thank you for the Info. I had a look and very intresting.

0 Likes 0 ·
Paul F Prinsloo answered ·

Apologies, but I am not sure how to use this to get the correct value. Is there a formula that I could use?

1 comment
2 |3000

Ingo avatar image Ingo commented ·

You need to do the following:

lets take the example of decimal (-44) to form 2's complements as follows:
Step 1: Begin with the decimal value -44
The value will be converted into binary as 00101100
Step 2: Formed the one's complement as follows:
Step 3: Add 1 to the one's complement
11010011 (One's complement)
+ 1 (Add 1)
-----------
11010100 (Two's complement)

This for 8-bit, you will need to adapt it for 16-bit. Check Google, there are lots of examples and online calculators.

0 Likes 0 ·
Paul F Prinsloo answered ·

The other comments here are very valuable in understanding the basics of how data is sent.