question

fmueller87 avatar image
fmueller87 asked

RCD, Grounding Multiplus, Grounding Negative

Dear Community,

I am still learning so apologies if my question seems trivial. I have been reading wiring unlimited which is a fantastic resource, many thanks for that!

We are installing a Multiplus 1200 VA, and 2 x MPPT charge controllers. The Multiplus should prioritize Solar and Battery at all times, but it is connected to Grid in case batter SoC reaches 10% and there isnt sufficient solar available to recharge.

Question 1: In the BYD example diagram (shown), in wiring unlimited and several other sources, it is mentioned that the negative battery pole should be grounded. In this case the BYD battery has its own grounding point, is this just the casing, or is that the negative pole? Do I need to ground the negative pole in addition?

I am running my main battery cable through a 160 A NH breaker (rated for DC Voltage) and into a Lynx Distributor Busbar. Shall I ground the negative cable on the input side of the main fuse? Or there is an additional bolt point on the negative busbar of the lynx distributor, is this supposed to be grounded?

Question 2: Due to the system being "off-grid" but within grid vicinity, we are using the common building earth, to which the entire system (DC/AC/SOLAR Potential Earthing is connected). The input side of the Multiplus is protected with an RCD, the output should also be protected with an RCD, prior to the 2 x load MCBs that we wish to run?

A colleague mentioned that the RCD is so sensitive that it may be prone to nuisance tripping, suggesting to leave it out, is this the case? What do the experts recommend?

Does the Multi 1200 VA even connect the neutral to the ground when in inverter mode, like the larger models do?

Many thanks in advance for your help!!

Best regards

Fabian

MultiPlus Quattro Inverter ChargerinstallationGrounding
2 |3000