question

nodnyl88 avatar image
nodnyl88 asked

BeagleBone Black Venus OS hardware question.

Hello lovely people,

I am a complete noob and apologise in advance...sorry.

I'm mostly looking for some confirmation before pulling the trigger on buying hardware to attempt Venus OS install on. RPI's are obviously pretty hard to find at the moment so I've been searching for a reasonably priced alternative: leading me to the Beaglebone Black.

Can anyone confirm for me that this: https://uk.rs-online.com/web/p/microcontroller-development-tools/1252411 is the correct board for the job before I drive down to RS components to purchase?

I have read through the github wiki several times and confused myself :D am I correct in thinking I can install Venus OS on BBB, and then connect my 3x ve direct/usb cables to a 3rd party USB hub, and from there connect to my RPI4 which is running my Homeassistant OS.

really appreciate if anyone can help me clarify whether my intended plan is doable.

Regards.

Venus OS
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

3 Answers
Jons Collasius avatar image
Jons Collasius answered ·

512MB DDR3 RAM and one single 1Ghz Core? The Beage Bone is more like an Arduino on crack but not a single board computer.

You don't want to use this outdated crap.

Take a look at this, if it has to be from uk.rs-online.com
https://uk.rs-online.com/web/p/single-board-computers/2563902

2 GB RAM and quad core should do the job. It's also cheaper.

The Cerbo GX has 1 GB and is dual core btw.

3 comments
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

nodnyl88 avatar image nodnyl88 commented ·

Thanks for your reply.