question

sylk avatar image
sylk asked

How much oversizing is too much?

Hello everyone!

I am a newbie, currently i have an offgrid system in a cabin with 4 320wp solar panels with a blue solar 150-35. 48 volts, 4 x pylontech us2000c.

During 3 months of winter i have bad shading because of a tall hill nearby, so mostly indirect lighting. Unfortunately is the only option, no grid nearby.

I ordered 12 jinko solar 420wp (37.96Voc, 14.01Isc). I want to make 4 series x 3 in parallel.

When i checked "oversize 135%", Victron calculator recomended me my exact charger, 150-35, and it said 253% oversized.

I ll be happy to keep using it, but how good this is for my system? And what charger do you recommend instead?

Thank you!

MPPT Controllers48v batterysolar sizing
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

5 Answers
kevgermany avatar image
kevgermany answered ·

It will be ok if the calculator signed off on it. But the configuration sounds wrong. Four parallel sets of three in series sounds safer. Otherwise the panels may exceed the MPPT max input voltage.

This makes me wonder if you entered some parameters incorrectly.

2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

Alexandra avatar image
Alexandra answered ·

@Sylk

As long as you dont break the rules of not exceeding the input voltage limit (at your lowest temperature- so temp are important) and the short circuit current for input (string combo), you can panel up. Good to slightly over panel for low light/irradiance, but a total waste in good sun otherwise.

You will be slightly over the isc on the 35A.

12 x 420W is 5040w at STC (assume thats the stats you are using) so at 48V you will need at least 100A mppt charger, so you dont peak shave in good light.

I would use 250/100. Or 250/85 if overpanel was the aim.

2 |3000

sylk avatar image
sylk answered ·