question

komsolar avatar image
komsolar asked

battery size

I have a MPPT 75/15 charge controller charging a 1 x 150AH gel battery from 2 x 100w 18v 5.5amp panels (in parralel). Connected to the battery is a Victron Blue solar 12/1200 inverter. I was wondering if I could add a second 150Ah gel battery to create a 12v 300Ah battery. I'm new to all this, so was wondering if the charger could handle charging double what it is doing now? Currently the load on the inverter is around 300W, but I want to add my fridge (260w) and need the system to run for around 4 hours during loadshedding.

battery charging
1 comment
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

kevgermany avatar image kevgermany ♦♦ commented ·
Couple of things to add to @Seb71 answer.

I hear rumours of loadshedding getting up to 12 hours soon.

If the existing battery is older/heavily used, don't add another, replace with a new larger pack.

I think you've probably done it already, but estimate fridge % run time on hot days and size the batteries to suit based on the power draw on the fridge label. Add some for inverter losses.. Max discharge 50%, how quickly solar will recharge and so on.

Sounds, like seb said, as if the existing installation is too small.

0 Likes 0 ·
4 Answers
seb71 avatar image
seb71 answered ·

Sounds like you also need to increase your PV array.

Or extend the length of the day.

2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

christern avatar image
christern answered ·

Without knowing the specs of the inverter I would say that it is always good to extend the battery capacity. Bigger battery banks accepts charging better and tend to have much longer life due to less degree of discharging. Just make sure you charge the batteries fully from time to time.