question

Eugene avatar image
Eugene asked

Older Multiplus with BlueSolar HUB-1

Hi there,

This is my first post on this forum, and I'm quite new to Victron products, solar power and electronics in general.

I have an old (donated) MultiPlus 24/3000/70-50 and BlueSolar 150/85 from years ago. The Multiplus is product code 1910 with firmware version 209 (I updated this myself, it was running 1xx).

Currently, the inverter and MPPT are connected to the batteries, but there is no intelligence. I'd like to run the HUB-1 assistant on this device to allow the MPPT to serve AC loads when the batteries are full. I'm starting to think that this is not possible on the older MultiPlus that I have. Is that correct?

My ultimate goal is for load-shedding/grid-blackout resilience and to NOT feed back to mains. Ideally, the inverter will run from solar, failing which it will run from mains, failing which it will use the batteries. Solar -> mains -> batteries.

If this device can not run the HUB-1 assistant, is there another way to achieve this?

Thanks in advance!

MultiPlus Quattro Inverter Chargerbattery chargingsolarAssistantssoftware
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

8 Answers
Alexandra avatar image
Alexandra answered ·

@edebeste

Hub 1 allows feedback to grid.

Use virtual switch instead to prioritize solar.

2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

Stan avatar image
Stan answered ·

If you dont want to feed back to the grid, do not use ESS or HUB assistant.

It is better to have AC loads on ACout and use Virtual switch "Ignore AC".

2 |3000

Eugene avatar image
Eugene answered ·

Thank you @Alexandra and @Stan, I configured the device as described in the PDF (disabled charging for MPPT to take priority and enaled the virtual switch to ignore AC on certain conditions). All appears to be working there.