question

adam-martin avatar image
adam-martin asked

Need sanity check on Victron Orion-Tr + Smart Shunt wiring please

Hello, I'm still a newbie and drinking from the firehose. I'm also now on a timecrunch for the start of my project and since I can no longer procrastinate it's time to dive in head first. General idea is a 12v LFP house battery inside the truck cab + Victron Orion-Tr 12|12-30 Non-Isolated to charge at 30A + Victron 500A Smart Shunt to watch my loads (and for the future). LFP battery will likely be an SOK 100Ah for now only because I'm out of time - not terrible but not what I wanted, future plans will be something different.

Looking to get a sanity check on my wiring plan so I don't have a bad bad day. Also so I don't burn down my truck. Made a quick wiring diagram below - does this look correct? I may have missed adding some fuses/breakers on the 12v ports/loads and will probably add those in the actual build.

Thanks for any help to point me in the right direction!

2022-09-07-19-21-08-window.png

Lithium BatterySmartShuntorion-tr smart
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

2 Answers
Guy Stewart (Victron Community Manager) avatar image
Guy Stewart (Victron Community Manager) answered ·

Hi @Adam Martin

There are a few mistakes with your diagram.

I have done a rough correction,

1) you had the shunt the wrong way around - this picture makes it clearer which terminal needs to be connected to the battery (the one closes to the VBatt+ socket, and which to the system (loads/charger) (the one closes to the VE.Direct port).

This wouldn't have caused any damage but the count would be backwards.

cleanshot-2022-09-08-at-121205.jpg

2)

You had the Aux connection connected to the battery negative of the starter battery. Now I am presuming that you want to use this as the 2nd battery voltage monitor, like in this example;

cleanshot-2022-09-08-at-121108.jpg