question

russellg2000 avatar image
russellg2000 asked

IVECO Daily 6 - Euro 6 - Smart alternator feed for Orion TR - 2.5v?

Hi guys,

I'm new user of Victron products but not I’m new to modern vehicle electronics or renewables. For a bit of background I am currently upgrading our Iveco Daily with a Cerbo GX, Lynx Distribution, Multiplus 12/1200/50, MPPT 100/50 and a Orion-TR Smart 12/12- 30 (plus other bits and bobs of course - BMV, Battery protect, isolators and fuses etc). Currently the system with be supporting an SLA battery but LiFePO4 or two are planned sometime in the future.

I know there are a ton of posts out there along the same lines but I have a query with the dedicated alternator signal wire for the Orion TR. Our MY2018 Daily have 210ps EURO VI engine with factory upgraded 210amp Smart Alternator (not start stop).

I have read through a number of the smart alternator DC-DC charger posts on this forum and others but nothing specific to the

To cut to the chase: -

Iveco provide a body connector which amongst other outputs provides a alternator status wire. On this wire I was expecting and ~12v when engine running/alternator charging and )v when alternator/vehicle battery is not changing.

I have not hooked up the Orion TR yet but as per installation and operation manual I ideally want to connect the status wire to the Orion TR H-pin and have it charge the leisure battery when alternator status wire is greater than 3v.

So with that in mind I have measured the following on the alternator status wire: -

0v – Engine off
2.55v – Engine running (note 14v+ measured across battery during engine running indicating alternator is charging)

I don’t have an oscilloscope but I don’t believe it’s a CAN signal

I need to do further testing as it’s entirely possible that ~2.5v is output when the alternator is not charging and 12v is output when the alternator/vehicle battery is charging.