question

sieade245 avatar image
sieade245 asked

Mixing battery types and capacities - my experiences

Hi guys. I've asked a lot of question on here and in the previous Victron community forums which people have helpfully answered to get me up and running so I thought I'd spend 5 minutes to give a bit back and talk about what I have found during the setup of my frankenstein battery bank which I use.

I'm not an expert on battery physics. You might not agree with some of my points however all I can say is these are ACTUAL results, not theory, based on the performance of my own kit.

Some background. I install Victron equipment at work: phoenix and Skylla chargers, multiplus and quattro inverters. We don't use CCGX or ESS we are 100% off grid using solar power to charger batteries which then power our loads with diesel generator support for the winter. Our banks can range from 200AH to upwards of 5000AH.

When our batteries are 10-15 years old, we scrap them and replace them. We have used wet cells OPZs which require water maintenance in the past but recently we have moved to AGM/ OPZv deep cycle gel batteries. We normally use 2V cells normally using 24V although we also use lower capacity 12V gel batteries in some installations as they are lighter and easier to move by hand. For installations which have mains power, our batteries are constantly held at float charge unless there is a power cut which is extremely rare (UK). Out stations with no mains power are recharged daily by solar power and used at night however they are massively overspecced with normally at least 2 weeks operational standby time designed in incase the backup generator fails (need a helicopter to get to most of them). We inspect the batteries annually and try and do a 50% load test if we have enough time on site.