question

harrycw avatar image
harrycw asked

Help me understand the stages of the SmartSolar MPPT?

I'm a newbie to the fancy Smart controller that Victron provides, and I wonder if my charger readings and settings make sense. I'm also not real clear as to how the specs that Crown Battery provides correspond to the settings that Victron requires in their VictronConnect app.

From having read others' experience, I believe I have the settings right, but I'd like to understand their actual meaning!

My setup:

2-100W 12V solar panels in series

Victron Smartsolar 75/15 MPPT Bluetooth controller

Victron BVM-712 battery monitor plus temp sensor

2 Crown 220Ah GC2 6V standard FLA batteries in series

temperature 7°C

This is my understanding of the "bulk-absorption-float" cycle, please advise if I have it wrong...

Charging starts in Bulk mode, with max available current (up to 50A per Crown, but in reality current is limited by my panels to @ 13.2A)

The starting ''Voltage" in Bulk mode is determined by battery state of charge - and it gradually climbs to "Charged" level, which is equivalent to Absorption level (14.22V per Crown specs).

Once the SOC climbs to the "Charged" (Absorption) voltage-level, the controller switches to Absorption mode, which then limits the voltage to no more than the Absorption setting, and varies the current, gradually lowering the current, as the battery becomes more charged (as the battery accepts less and less). Question: does the controller actually keep the voltage at the 'Absorption' voltage-level (Crown calls it: 'Constant Voltage') during this Absorption phase?

When the charge current drops as low as 5A (per Crown specs) the controller should switch to Float mode (Crown: 'constant current'), and (should?) holds the current at 5A, until SOC corresponds to (controller setting of) Float Voltage (13.5V)? Question: does the controller actually stop charging at this point? ie: No 'trickle charge'?