question

Matt Shea avatar image
Matt Shea asked

Lithium Installation

HI Newish to the community.

I have a narrow boat that currently runs on 4 x 6v 220ah flooded batteries. I have purchased a 200ah 160 continuous amp lithium battery has a built in BMS

My current setup is dual alternators, one to the starter battery and one to the leisure batteries.

When I purchased the lithium battery I also was told to get a Non-Isolated DC 2 DC charger which I did get but I now need to change over but as I am new to lithium I am looking at some help as to how to set this up.

12v electricians are either saying lithium is to new to them or wont install something they haven’t purchased so its down to me.

CURRENT SETUP

SmartSolar Charger MPPT 150/60

2 x 270W Solar Panels

Smart BMV 712 Battery Monitor

2 x alternator

1 - Alternator charging the leisure batteries

1 - Alternator charging the starter battery

4 x 6v 220ah battery in two banks of 12v

Multiplus 1600w invertor

—————————

NEW SETUP

SmartSolar Charger MPPT 150/60

2 x 270W Solar Panels

Smart BMV 712 Battery Monitor

2 x alternator

1 - Alternator charging the leisure batteries

1 - Alternator charging the starter battery

1 x Lithium 200ah 160amp

Victron DC2DC charger

Multiplus 1600w invertor

Lithium Batteryorion-tr smart
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

3 Answers
JohnC avatar image
JohnC answered ·

Hi @Matt Shea

Your Li Battery supplier has suggested the Smart Orion to give you more precise control of charging Voltages, rather than use a coarse/unadjustable alternator regulator.

So you'd just remove the Leisure batt alternator, or maybe relocate it to the starter batt, parallel to the other alt.

Then the Orion wired to charge the Leisure batt from the Starter batt.