question

yariv-edery avatar image
yariv-edery asked

Single line diagram review - EasySolar 5kVA / Pylontech BESS

Hello all,

I've been in solar for a good number of years but I am new to Victron and I love their gear already :-)

The attached SLD is for a 3.24kWp/28kWh off grid system with 7kVA genset.

I have used the EasySolar 5kVA model (MPPT 150/100)

The power system will be located in a shed which is 20m away from dwelling #3 and 35m away from dwelling #5. There will be MSB in the shed with feeders going to each dwelling.

The generator is Honda EU70 32A (petrol gene/inverter) with ATS. I also want to connect it with a bypass option.

Would appreciate any comments on my design. I am mainly looking for comments on the interface with the 28kWh Pylontech BESS, the transition from the EasySolar to the MSB and compatibility of the connections between the gene and the inverter and MSB.

Many thanks

Yariv

SLD VICTRON 3.24KW.28KWH.pdf

EasySolar All-in-Onesystem design
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

2 Answers
JohnC avatar image
JohnC answered ·

Hi @Yariv Edery

Victron has a lot of experience with the Pylons, a summary here.. https://www.victronenergy.com/live/battery_compatibility:pylontech_phantom

I question your choice of an Easy 5000. Despite actually choosing one for myself, swung by mainly the onboard breakers for convenience. But you're going to effectively bypass them.

A lot of batts, and you may find the Multi's 70A charge limit restrictive.

You could get by with a 150/60 mppt on that much panel.

Serving 2x residences raises questions of having enough capacity. Just little things like water pumps and washer/dishwasher heating cycles can add up, and Murphy's Law guarantees they'll coincide.