question

atomix avatar image
atomix asked

24v solar / 12v battery system design help

Hi, I'm new to solar power and am in the process of designing a modest micro off-grid system.

Is it ok to use 24v panels to charge a 12v battery via an MPPT controller?

Specifically I would like to use the following items:

• 2x 200w 24v Victron Panels in parallel (SPM032002400) - Rated at 5,55A max / 36V max each
  • Victron 100/15 MPPT Controller - Rated for 400w @ 24v / 15A max / 100V max
  • One or more Victron GEL 12v 60Ah batteries in series

Is this set-up suitable/recommended? I've been through the manuals and I think all these items work well together. And I believe the MPPT controller will reduce the voltage from the panels while increasing the current provided to the battery, meaning there is minimal losses/the setup is efficient.

Any advice is greatly appreciated.

offgridsystem designHelp
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

2 Answers
murph avatar image
murph answered ·

It's not just "ok" to charge 12V from 24V via MPPT, it's essentially a minimum practical requirement. The PV input must be at least battery+5 to start and battery+1 to continue charging. A single 12V panel may struggle to hit that in less than perfect circumstances. You need at least either two 12V panels in series or a 24V panel to maximise charge time (or higher, keeping Voc*1.25 less than 100V on a 100/x MPPT).

The power ratings on the MPPT chargers are for the battery voltage, not PV voltage, so it's 200W @ 12V.

If your 12V batteries are in series, that's not a 12V system. They need to be in parallel for a 12V system. On the other hand, two 12V in series for a 24V system (which then needs 48V or higher panel configuration for best results).

2 comments
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

atomix avatar image atomix commented ·