question

willeert avatar image
willeert asked

Anyone reading CCGS modbus registers with an Arduino?

I am new to the Victron community and this brand of equipment. I need to read / write the modbus registers of the CCGX using an Arduino for an AC Coupled off grid system I am planning. I am familiar with Modbus RTU but not TCP and have a diversion control operating for my existing DC coupled system using Arduino and the Midnite Classic. My question is: Is anyone already communicating with the CCGX using Arduino to Read / Write the CCGX Modbus registers? Any help or info will be much appreciated. Thank you.

Will

Modbus TCP
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

8 Answers
shaneyake avatar image
shaneyake answered ·

You will need an ethernet shield but this is a good place to start.
https://www.arduino.cc/en/ArduinoModbus/ArduinoModbus

2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

willeert avatar image
willeert answered ·

Thank you for your reply. I have located a Modbus Master TCP library and loaded them in my IDE. I have looked at the examples and thought about them. It seems to me that I need, as you suggest, an ethernet shield. I am guessing theat the CCGX will need to have a modem or some form of wireless broadcasting device connected to it's port. A difficulty I see is that the TCP libraries do not seem to have a place to enter the unit ID # unless this is what this line of code signifys: " ModbusTCP node(1)" // unit identifier. Also the one library I can find that configures the Arduino as a TCP master has large delays in it. There must be something better - I just have not found it yet.

I have also learned that any Victron ....GX device will do Modbus TCP communications so the question becomes:

Does anyone use an Arduino to communicate with an Victron GX device?

Will

1 comment
2 |3000