question

pegi avatar image
pegi asked

REC-BMS for Victron / Multiplus 24/3000 / Control Load busbar

Hi,

I'm pretty new to LiFeYPO4 (coming from normal batteries) and I want to build a Victron system using Winston LiFeYPO4 batteries with REC SI BMS for Victron. I intend to build a 2p8s system which is connected to the BMS.

REC BMS communicates with Victron via CAN and CCGX will be configured with DVCC to let the BMS decide the whole charging thing.

My issue is regarding the LOAD:

In all Lithium Victron diagrams (e.g. here) a Smart Battery Protect is used to switch loads on and of. SBP is controlled by VE-BUS BMS via the load disconnect signal. But with REC-BMS I have no clue to accieve this...

Is it possible to use the alarm relay of CCGX? REC BMS also has an optocoupler but the manual says this is only for charging...

My questions are:

Is it correct that in case of undervoltage the inverter of the MPII is switche off via CAN?

Has anybody an idea how to switch of all 24/12v loads in a Victron environment using REC BMS for Victron?

Any ideas appreciated.

Thanks
Peter

Multiplus-IIBMSCCGX Color Controllow battery warningdischarge level
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

2 Answers
nebulight avatar image
nebulight answered ·

I'm not sure about the 24v BMS from REC, but the 12V active has two relays and two optocouplers which can be used for what you want. I'd use one of the optocouplers to drive the Smart Battery Protect in Lithium Mode (type C on the battery protect). It will work the same was as the ve.bus BMS except with the optocoupler, you'll need two wires to the BP since it'll just be a closed loop.

EDIT: It looks like the bigger units only have a "charge" optocoupler. You might want to reach out to REC to see if that can be reprogrammed.

2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

pegi avatar image