question

garethcurtis avatar image
garethcurtis asked

ESS grid parallel with AC Socket connected directly to AC Out 1 on Multiplus II

Hi,

I recently posted questioning about how my electrician wired up the ET340 energy meter as it didn't work (he didn't connect the neutral to it). Now I'm questioning about something else he did. He said it was ok to wire an AC socket directly to the AC OUT 1 on the Multiplus II. I said does it need to go through something and he said no. I'm not an electrician, as you can tell, but I would have thought it might need to have something between the socket and the inverter?

My aim is to use the ESS and feedback the power from the batteries to the house via AC IN which I saw that @Sean said his does? Though I must admit, I still don't know how it does this. Why would it pull battery power rather than the grid, if the Multiplus is not sitting between the grid and the consumer unit. I know it says about using the meter to try to keep grid input at zero or thereabouts but how does it actually stop power flowing from the grid? If the grid is still directly connected to my consumer unit.

On the AC out, I just want to plug in my large freezer so it's continually powered if the grid goes hence the extra socket directly wired to the inverter..

Sorry quite a few questions there in the end.

Please can anyone offer any advice?

Thanks.

ESS
img-5180.jpg (361.9 KiB)
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

3 Answers
Rob Duthie avatar image
Rob Duthie answered ·

Hi

Yes it does on AC1 out put as that is the back supply in case of grid failure. These are bidirectional inverters, power can flow in either direction. In ESS mode it can, you can set it up to import and export power at will.

There should be RCD between the inverter and power socket for safety reasons. Not sure what the UK wiring rules are.