question

Alistair Warburton avatar image
Alistair Warburton asked

VEConfigure SOC setting for BYD 13.8

Noob here... worried I have not got things set up properly.

Easysolar 5000, BYD 13.8

I am confused RE SOC instrumentation....

Supplier, Wind & Sun, say if I want to use DC I will need a battery monitor, which if the SOC is coming from the Multiplus make sense, but if the BYD box is providing SOC, which is how I have it configured now, then I dont understand why this would be the case.

Not suggesting they are wrong but would like to understand...

Part two of this question is about VEConfigure settings.

At least one of the manuals I have seen, sorry no idea which, there are so many but a BYD one I think, states that the SOC option should be ON when selecting Lithium from he general tab, however I cant work out what settings to apply if I set this and I thought that the B-Box was controlling things anyway... Suggestions?

I need educating and any help would be appriciated.

MultiPlus Quattro Inverter ChargerSOCBYD
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

6 Answers
Daniël Boekel (Victron Energy Staff) avatar image
Daniël Boekel (Victron Energy Staff) answered ·

Hi @Alistair Warburton

ok:

" If I add a DC load do I NEED a battery monitor and if so WHY? "

No, (the battery is the battery monitor) but you might need a protection device between the battery and the DC-load, that's why I asked 'what kind of load'

" Should SOC be on for Lithium in VEConfigure or not? "

Yes

" I cant find the AH rating for the 13.8 in any of the linked documents "

Finding the AH is very simple: devide the battery Capacity (13.8kWh) by the nominal voltage (51.2V) and you get the Ah rating: 270 Ah

But in the end, when you are using the CANbus connection to a GX device, it doesn't matter, the batteries SOC will be sent to and used in the Multi / Quattro

2 comments
2 |3000