question

doppeldecker1678 avatar image
doppeldecker1678 asked

Problems with RS485 adapter to connect with ET340

Hi all,

I am new to this and setting up the first ESS with a Multigrid 48/3000 on Venus GX and ET340.

Unfortunately I do not get to run communication between ET340 and Venus GX via the Victron USB to RS485 adapter.

I did connect as said Data +, data - and GND between ET340 and the RS485 adapter. The left led on ET340 stays green instead of blinking red as I would expect if communication was enabled.

On the Venus GX no energymeter is available.

No difference wheter or not I use a terminator or not.

Does there need to be sth. enabled in the Venus GX? I did enable ModbusTCP, is that relevant by the way?

Hope somebody can give advice how to search for the solution step by step.

Best regards

Sascha

Venus GX - VGXEnergy Meterrs485
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

5 Answers
doppeldecker1678 avatar image
doppeldecker1678 answered ·

First of all, thank you all for your immidiate support.

Secondly: SORRY! I simply failed to squeeze the wire end sleeves clean. This way a data channel simply had no electrical contact.

After correction, everything workes fine. Special thanks to Peter at this point.

Without any cable extension NO termination is enough. After having added 7m of cable, I used the internal termination of ET340. System working stable.

Best regards,

Sascha

2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

Peter Polz avatar image
Peter Polz answered ·

Hi Sasha