question

lief ryan avatar image
lief ryan asked

Wind Turbines and victron charge controllers

hi, i would like to know if victron mppt charge controllers support wind turbines? if yes could i run 2 controllers in parallel, one with solar and one with a wind turbine?

Thanks

Lief.

charge controller compatibilityHydro and Wind Power
19 comments
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

myren avatar image myren commented ·

Hi, greetings from Denmark. Following this interesting thread due to my own wind/ solar project.

I am a solar installer from Gsol Energy Global, we make offgrid and on grid Solar systems for the UN.

In my private project, I am allso building a hybrid system containing wind and solar.

Technical information -

Wind turbine 1kw 3phase Greef generator mounted on 9m mast, with home made blades( vertical )

Victron quattro 10000Va,

Ccgx, lynx shunt can bus,

smartsolar 250/70 as wind input with rectifier, and 10000uF capacitor infront.

Smartsolar150/100 for pv.

Wind break will be added through a changeoverswitch later. I can raise and lower wind tower at will, and the vertical design is not prone to overspin due to the design.

My problem is that windmill it is not transferring power, even though i got strong wind and 60vdc at the pv input side. And the voltage on battery bank is more than 5v lower (51,2v - 57,6 is cycle use)

I was thinking that voltage from generator is to close to the battery voltage, I was thinking about putting a voltage stepup module infront despite the loss..

Any thoughts from you guys?

0 Likes 0 ·
myren avatar image myren myren commented ·

Still in the build/test phase

3 Likes 3 ·
jamesdew avatar image jamesdew myren commented ·
Hi, did you get your wind system to work properly? I'm looking for an adviser or consultant to help me implement wind turbines. can you recommend anyone?
0 Likes 0 ·
jbn avatar image jbn myren commented ·
Hej